Volunteer Spotlight – Katy Galloway

In order to better get to know the volunteer educators for BWI of Southern Maryland, we will be featuring an interview with a different volunteer every week.

This week’s volunteer spotlight is Katy Galloway!

3

Name: Katy Galloway
Children: Jude, 2 years old, and Baby #2 due in March 2016
Volunteer Type: VBE (Volunteer Babywearing Educator)
Other Job: Owner of Marigold, local Share The Love host, and future Real Diaper Association Circle Leader
BWI Meetings attended: Lexington Park

How did you discover babywearing?

Katy: A friend of mine recommended adding the baby k’tan to our registry. We were so excited! But, unfortunately when our little guy arrived, the k’tan didn’t work out for us. I started to research other carriers and ultimately my research lead me to BWI.

2

What is your favorite type of carrier (wraps/ ring slings/ SSCs/ MTs, etc.) and why?

Katy: We go through phases of what works best. Right now my son is constantly wanting to go up and down, so ring slings have been working really well for during this phase because of how easy and quick they are.

What is your favorite carrier you have owned?

Katy: I absouletly loved wearing my son in my Solly Baby Wrap during those first few months! I loved that the Solly Wrap so soft and that the Fabric was so much more breathable than other carriers I had tried.

Do you have a story about a specific time that babywearing saved the day?

Katy: We travel a lot to visit family, babywearing has made naps while traveling possible!

1

You are having a baby and you can pick any carrier (but only one) to last from the newborn stage to the toddler days, what do you pick?

Katy: A woven wrap! They are so versatile.

4

What do you love most about BWI of Southern Maryland?

Katy: This community is so unique and special. I love the support!

Is there anything babywearing related you are still learning or looking forward to improving?

Katy: Yes! There is so much to learn. I’m looking forward to diving into more advanced wrapping and Mei Tai’s.

11301526_10204477009187117_16201468457_n

What are your other hobbies/ interests/ passions?

Katy: I co-own a natural parenting store in Leonardtown! I also work with the non-profit Share The Love, providing underserved families in our community with diapers, and I am working towards my accreditation with the Real Diaper Association.

What do you like to do when you are not babywearing?

Katy: drink wine and watch The Real Housewives.

Tell me something about yourself that has nothing to do with babywearing or children or your Mom status.

Katy: My husband and I enjoy refinishing furniture and tackling DIY projects on our “fixer upper”

6

Leave a Reply